Skip to content

Cauliflower Pizza

February 14, 2013

My husband and I try to maintain eating on the healthy side, and most of the time avoid carbs after six and skip dessert. But who doesn’t love pizza and ice cream, especially without the guilt! I had been researching pizza alternatives and had a few failed attempts…. Anyone who thinks a zucchini with cheese and sauce is as good as pizza clearly doesn’t have the same taste buds that I do. I like eggplant parm as much as the next person but sliced eggplant just doesn’t cut it when I’m craving real pizza. And seeing as I feel as strongly about my hatred for mushrooms as I do my love of cheese, portobello pizzas were not even an option. So when I stumbled on cauliflower pizza crust and the pictures looked promising I figured I may as well give it a shot.

What I should also mention is that before my husband met me the only vegetable you would ever catch him eating was “salad” (lettuce with dressing). He’s come a LONG way since then and I have been able to broaden his horizons. However…. Broccoli was and probably always will be his arch enemy and considering cauliflower is broccoli’s sidekick I knew this was going to be a hard sell.

So I did what any good wife would do and I lied, but covered with “It’s a surprise”. I couldn’t believe my eyes when he not only tasted it, but continued to eat and enjoy it!

The rest of the post is from my Husband, so I’m sure it’s filled with sarcastic comments and dumb YouTube clips.

Tara has been making Cauliflower Pizza for a while now. I know what you’re thinking. It sounds disgusting. I hate vegetables. Actually, saying I hate vegetables is an understatement. I mega-loathe vegetables. She literally had to trick me to try it. This is not an exaggeration of how the conversation went down.

Tara: I want you to try this pizza. The crust is not made of dough.

Jason: If it’s not made of dough, then what is it?

Tara: Just try it.

Jason: I don’t want to, this is weird. Why does every meal we have need to be a surprise with you??

Tara: Can you please just try it.

Jason: Fine! (Eats some of the cauliflower pizza) This tastes really good. It tastes like regular pizza. What is it?

Tara: It’s cauliflower. The crust is made from cauliflower.

Jason: Oh, really? It’s good.

And then I ate two whole pizzas.

Now I want her to make cauliflower pizza all the time. I just don’t want her to ever pronounce cauliflower (she pronounces it like cull – a – flow – err). I have to give Tara a lot of credit for this one. She took a huge risk on something that I never in a million years would have thought would be good. Now she has me addicted to some weird pizza with the crust made of vegetables. Thirteen year old Jason wouldn’t even recognize me.

So now for the recipe….
This will make two crusts

1 head cauliflower
2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese
2 eggs, beaten
2 tsps dried oregano
2 tsps dried basil
2 tsps dried parsley
1 tsp crushed garlic
1 tsp garlic salt
olive oil
pizza sauce,shredded cheese and your choice of toppings*

Preheat the oven to 450.
Start by taking the head of cauliflower cutting it up and putting it in the food processor. Pulse until it is riced.

20130212-225157.jpg

Transfer the riced cauliflower to a microwave safe bowl and cook for five minutes. Once it’s hot add the rest if ingredients and mix.

20130212-225326.jpg

20130212-225342.jpg

20130212-225406.jpg

Take the ball and place it on a well oiled pizza stone.

20130212-225838.jpg

Start to pat it down to form the shape of a pizza crust.

20130212-230019.jpg

20130212-230037.jpg

Brush the crust with some olive oil to help it brown. Now place the stone in the oven and cook the cauliflower without the toppings for 20-25 minutes. You want the crust to be crispy and brown…

20130212-230327.jpg

Remove from the oven and add your favorite toppings. Place back in the oven for 5-7 minutes or until cheese is melted and bubbly.

20130212-230444.jpg

20130212-230500.jpg

I made a plain and a white this time and they were both great! I also like to out pepperoni and other toppings on, it really makes it taste more like real pizza!

This is a great recipe to try if you are gluten free! And if you are dairy free I think non dairy cheese substitute that melts well would be a great alternative.

From → Dinners

3 Comments
  1. Mayda Bosco permalink

    Very impressive! I am going to give this a try since I’ve moved away from eating wheat products and processed foods. Thank you for this post. Awesome!

  2. might have to give this a try Tara, looks pretty good.

Leave a Reply

