Skip to content

Eggs Benedict

June 3, 2013

I was recently introduced to Eggs Benedict by one of my friends and instantly fell in love! I’ve started to order them at restaurants and even have gotten a little adventurous by trying different versions like crab and spinach Eggs Benedict… Yum! I was discussing with the same friend how much I had fallen in love with them and wondered about making them myself. We are really big breakfast people in our house, and all of my friends agreed of anyone could make them I could. CHALLENGE ACCEPTED!

I promised my friends that I would practice/ figure it out and the next time they came for a night we would have Eggs Benedict for breakfast. Well…. I made them…. I learned how to…. And I also leaner I will never be doing it again. “Nothing is too much trouble if it turns out right” ….. I changed my mind, to much trouble, even though it turned out right. I would rarer cater breakfast for 25 then make Eggs Benedict for two.

I have to say they were delicious, with avocado and tomato, we definitely enjoyed them, except for the fact that I had to eat with my left hand because I couldn’t feel my right arm after what seemed like hours of whisking. And now that I’ve completely motivated you to attempt these… Here is the recipe I used.

For the hollandaise (2 people)
2 egg yolks
1/2 Tblsp lemon juice
1/2 stick of butter
Pinch of cayenne pepper
Pinch of salt

For the eggs
2 eggs per person
1 whole wheat English muffin per person
Tomato slices
Avocado slices
Salt and pepper to taste

As a side note we absolutely love bacon, and have found that our favorite way to cool it is in the oven, I set the oven to 350, put the bacon in and let it cook while I making the rest of breakfast.

20130603-083133.jpg

For the sauce:

Put a small double boiler together and brig the water to barely a simmer, you don’t want too much heat or the yolks will cook.

Start by whisking the two eggs yolks and lemon juice together in a small bowl.

20130603-083417.jpg

Add it to the double boiler and heat the butter in the microwave to melt.

20130603-083527.jpg

Continue to whisk while you slowly add in melted butter.

20130603-083718.jpg

Now you whisk, whisk, whisk, and whisk some more until the sauce thickens… Here’s what mine looked like.

20130603-083859.jpg

I kept the sauce near the stove to keep it warm. Before I poached the eggs, I toasted the English muffins and assembled the tomato and avocado slices.

20130603-084108.jpg

Poaching the eggs…
I used the same water from the double boiler and added a little but of white vinegar to the water. First crack an egg into a bowl because its easier to pour.

20130603-084301.jpg

The water should be just about to boil, but don’t let it start, pour the egg in.

20130603-084455.jpg

It should cook for about 4 minutes. I let it cook for 30 second and let the white firm a little.

20130603-084643.jpg

20130603-084735.jpg

Then I took a spatula and flipped the egg over carefully and let it cook the rest of the way.

20130603-084911.jpg

Added them to the English muffins and sprinkled with salt and pepper.

20130603-085133.jpg

When they were all assembled I drizzled them with the hollandaise sauce.

20130603-085304.jpg

And voila! The most labor intensive breakfast I have ever made… At least it’s pretty.

20130603-085419.jpg

From → breakfast

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

