Skip to content

Breakfast for Dinner

June 13, 2013

Anyone who knows my husband knows that he is very serious about breakfast. It is by far his most important meal(s) of every day. Entire vacation plans have been set around a certain breakfast.
In addition to his love for eating breakfast, he also believes himself to be “The Omelette King”! He has his technique perfected and really enjoys it. He loves to experiment with omelette fillings and they almost always include siricha.

And now for Jason…
Tara asked me to take the lead on this blog post for a couple of reasons.
1 – I made the dinner, I guess it would be kind of foolish if I make the dinner and Tara would get all the credit, right?
2 – I have a weird obsession with breakfast food. I don’t even like calling it breakfast food because I want to eat it all the time. Is better food more appropriate?
3 – I have an even BIGGER obsession with eggs. It’s kind of scary how many eggs I want to eat at a given meal. The style doesn’t matter, the meal doesn’t matter. It’s gotten to the point where Tara has said to me on multiple occasions, “Can you please stop talking about eggs??” Maybe she thinks that by letting me write this blog post I’ll get all my “egg talk” out of my system. No way, especially since there’s a 90% chance I make eggs again for dinner tonight.
I started making omelets a few years ago. I didn’t really follow a recipe, I just started small by mixing some eggs into a bowl, adding whatever i felt like, and then pouring it into the frying pan. It seems simple enough, but the truth is I probably burned dozens of omelets at first. Apparently stoves have temperature settings other than “HIGH”.

(I do want to remind everyone that I am NOT the cook in the house. I may make dinner once in a while, but Tara is the one who actually knows what she’s talking about. If you’re reading this post expecting something serious then I suggest you look elsewhere. A quick Google search for “serious egg blogs” will provide way too many blogs about eggs than necessary. I’ve just subscribed to four of them.)

After a while, I started getting the hang of making omelets. Typically we’ll just look in our fridge, and if there’s something that makes sense, we’ll throw it in. Tomatoes? That works. Avocado? Awesome. Broccoli? Never ever ever in mine.

We went to Greece on our Honeymoon, and as expected we came back trying to bring some of the food culture from there back home. We’ve made Tzatziki, Lamb Chops, and of course Greek Omelets. While I can never figure out the exact amount of Spinach to use, and probably put in a little too much Feta, these come out really well, and are easy to make. We also decided to make Home Fries because, well… I have a breakfast problem

What you need for the Omelette:
3 eggs (1 egg, 2 whites)
Salt
Pepper
Garlic
Handful of spinach
Tomato
Onion
Feta

Home Fries:
Potatoes
Onion
Olive oil
Salt
Pepper
Garlic
Red pepper flakes
Oregano

To start the potatoes cut them into thin slices

20130613-122005.jpg

Put them in a bowl and drizzle olive oil over potatoes

20130613-122244.jpg

Season them with garlic, salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, and oregano

20130613-122418.jpg

Put them in a pan over medium high heat and cover them, cook for about 30 minutes.

20130613-122550.jpg

For the eggs:

Crack 2 egg whites and 1 egg into a small bowl

20130613-122936.jpg

Chop the spinach, tomato, and onion and add to the bowl.

20130613-123101.jpg

20130613-123208.jpg

20130613-123311.jpg

Pour into the pan

20130613-123511.jpg

Now here’s Jason’s famous technique… Flip the entire omelette whole…

20130613-123640.jpg

20130613-124217.jpg

Then add the cheese to middle, fold, and finish cooking!

20130613-153006.jpg

From → breakfast

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

